Log in

Log in

2022 winner BIOGRAPHIES

Sarah Bondar
AWL Foundation Scholarship

Sarah is a Wisconsin native. After she completed her undergraduate degree, she spent four years working as a law enforcement officer and 911 dispatcher before she went back to school to pursue her original dream career and to become a lawyer so that she could give back to her community, specifically victims of domestic violence.

She intends to practice family law, GAL work, and mediation. Sarah is currently a law clerk for attorney AnnMarie M. Sylla at Schott, Bublitz & Engel, S.C. and owns her own life coaching and event planning & coordinating business since May 2020. She is also President of the Children and Family Law Association, President of the Alternative Dispute Resolution Society, Director of Communications for the Federal Practice Society, and Student Liaison for the State Bar of Wisconsin ADR Section.

Noelle is a first-generation Moroccan-American law student. After graduating UW-Madison, she was unsure what area of the law she was interested in. Working in a non-profit organization and volunteering with an immigration law clinic ensured that, no matter what she wanted to do, she needed to be involved with her community and pro-bono work.

Noelle decided she wanted to go toward the transactional route after seeing how several attorneys she volunteered with at the Marquette Volunteer Legal Clinic, as well as attorneys she met through AWL, were able to work transactional law while also making differences within their community. During her second year of law school, Noelle was a law clerk at Northwestern Mutual and participated in a pro-bono trip to Fort McCoy to aid refugees from Afghanistan through Marquette. Presently, she is an intern with U.S. Bank and, this year, she will be the President of the Ruther Bader Ginsburg Society and Business Editor for the Marquette Law Review.

Noelle-Nadia Filali
Virginia A. Pomeroy Scholarship

Dusty Gross
Shirley S. Abrahamson

Dusty is a native of Oshkosh and the first in her family to obtain an Associate of Applied Science degree, so law school seemed like a farfetched idea. Nonetheless, while pursuing her A.A.S. in Paralegal Studies degree at Fox Valley Technical College and during her paralegal internship, she realized that she too could do more to help her community and went on to obtain her B.S. in Criminal Justice from UW-Oshkosh, where she graduated with honors.

Dusty is active in the Milwaukee Justice Center Family Forms Clinic, the Marquette Volunteer Legal Clinic, and AWL. She has been elected for the 2022-2023 academic year as the President of the Health Law Society and the 2L Class Representative for First Generation Professionals. In her “free time,” Dusty runs an Instagram page dedicated to helping future and current law students find educational resources because she knows firsthand how difficult it is to apply and go through law school with minimal guidance.

Gabrielle is the Financial Chair of the Moot Court Board and served as Vice President of Academic Enrichment for First Generation Lawyers. She also volunteered as a tournament judge for the American Mock Trial Association and competed at the World Federation of Baton Twirling Association. She continues twirl baton, as well as reading ancient Greek and exploring archaeological sites in her spare time.

This summer, Gabrielle drafted charges and investigated discrimination cases at the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission in Washington D.C. She believes that “equal justice under law” should be more than a slogan. As a woman in law, she is committed to making equal justice a reality. Gabrielle says that she is honored to join the AWL community.

Gabrielle Lattery
AWL Foundation Scholarship

Emma Suave
Virginia A. Pomeroy Scholarship

Emma grew up in Kalispell, Montana in the heart of the Rocky Mountains. She completed her bachelor's at the University of California-Berkeley, where she majored in political science and minored in English. Emma is currently President of the Public Interest Law Foundation and plans on pursuing a career in public defense after graduation.

PAST Scholarship winners


Sebrina Dixon
Kimberly Gutierrez
^Samantha Jozwiak
*Jennifer Knackert
*Sammi Lawrence


*Mckenna Rae Kohlenberg
Hannah Richerson
Kelly Ryan

*Liz Simonis
^Seynabou Youm


Erin Bartenstein
Jana Budet
*Bridget Smith
*Erika Tecua


*Taylor Brisco
*Amanda Poznanski
Niabi Schmaltz
Christa Seymour


Alisha Esselstein
*Amy Johnson
*Elizabeth Lambert
Aliya Manjee


Alexandra Abernethy
Hannah Dockendorff
*Whitney Ederer
*Courtney Roelandts


Alixandra Jacobson
Saiba Kapila
Erin Sherman
*Veronica Sustic
*Cassandra van Gompel


Liz Bradley
*Kelly Cavey
*Laura Graham
Britteny LaFond


Chelsey Metcalf
*Katheryn Mills
Amanda M. Nimmer
*Lia Ocasio


*Kelliann Blazek
Nicki Bohen
Codi Carstens
*Alaina Fahley


*Susan Barranco
*Kathryn Finley
Lisa Jacobson
Cassandra Steele


Lora Chupita
Kelly J. Glienke
*Kathryn E. Jackan
*Amanda Riek


Erin Page Fitzgerald
*Lindsey Larson
*Amy McGann
Anique Ruiz


*Melanie Black
*Elizabeth Champeau
Margaret Maffai
Megann Senfleben


Rachel Abhold
*Kelly Anderson
Shannon Kilpatrick
*Sarah Whiting


Krisstine Ebner
Anne Jaspers
Kelly Noyes
Elyce Wos

Renee Mehl
Lolita Velazquez-Aguilu

Jane Appleby
Cecelia Klingele


Gesina Seiler
Jessica Shoemaker

Elizabeth McCright
Victoria Selkowe

Bridget Kenney
Ma Manee Moua   

Tajara Dommershausen

Ann Devine
Susan Greenlee

Angelina Yoeme Okuda-Jacobs        
Vicki Eichel Zick

*Virginia A. Pomeroy Scholarship

^Shirley S. Abrahamson Scholarship

Copyright, 2023 - Association for Women Lawyers - Milwaukee, WI
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software